Online Access

For Teachers


Read Aloud West Virginia

WVRA partners with the WV Read Aloud organization and its Executive Director, Dawn Miller is a member of our Administrative Councils and Committees. WVRA members are encouraged to become Read Aloud volunteers. OFFICIAL WVRA PARTNER Access Website

Arts Edge

Sponsored by the Kennedy Center, Arts Edge provides arts-centered, standards-based resources for K-12.
Access Website

Code.org

Learn to code with these one-hour tutorials designed for learners of all ages in over 45 languages.
Access Website

CommonLit

Free collection of reading passages in all literary and non-fiction genres for grades 3-12. Passages come with text-dependent questions which help you track student progress.
Access Website

Common Sense Education

Common Sense Media is a nonprofit dedicated to providing educators and students with resources to harness the power of technology for learning and life.
Access Website

Education World

Education World is a complete online resource for teachers, administrators, and school staff to find high-quality and in-depth original content. They offer more than 1,000 free lessons.
Access Website

Everfi

Everfi offers free digital courses that are interactive and standards-based. The focus is on real-world learning, with courses offered in financial literacy, STEM, social-emotional learning, health, and wellness.
Access Website

Jumpstart

Jumpstart offers free teaching materials (activities, worksheets, lesson plans) for K-5 teachers that have been designed by experts or tried and found useful by other teachers.
Access Website

Learning for Justice

Formerly named Teaching Tolerance, this amazing site provides free resources that emphasize social justice and anti-bias to K-12 educators.
Access Website

Literacy Design Collaborative

LDC is a national community of educators which provides literacy-rich assignments and courses (organized by collection) across content areas.
Access Website

NASA STEM Engagement

Search hundreds of resources by subject, grade level, type, and keyword. These lesson plans and teaching materials support K-12 STEM curriculum. Includes a wide variety of at-home lessons as well.
Access Website

National Women’s History Museum

The mission of the National Women’s History Museum is to tell the stories of women who transformed the history of our nation in pursuit of a world “where women’s history inspires all people to have equal respect for everyone’s experiences and accomplishments and to see there are no obstacles to achieving their dreams.”
Access Website

Newsela

Newsela is a database of current events stories tailor-made for classroom use. Indexed by broad theme (e.g., War and Peace, Arts, Science, Health, Law, Money), stories are both student-friendly and can be accessed in different formats by reading level.
Access Website

 

For Students & Parents


Amplify Reading

Students encounter a series of personalized quests, emotionally engaging characters, and a narrative that intrinsically motivates and propels them forward. FREE, Grades K-8 until end of school year!Access Website

Between the Lions

PBS reading website with read-along folktales and fables, clever song videos of letter sounds, and many more stories to capture kids’ attention. FREE, Grades K-1.Access Website

Biblionasium

Site for reviewing and sharing books makes reading a social adventure. FREE, Grades 2-8.Access Website

CommonLit

This library includes thousands of high-interest, standards-aligned lessons. You can search for texts by book, genre, grade level, literary device, and theme. FREE, Grades 5-12. Access Website

Dogo News

Offers a variety of content covering current events, sports, science, technology, and more. Each article is kid friendly and contains links to definitions of words students may find complicated. Content is searchable by grade level or category and includes links to relevant national standards. Content is free to view. FREE Access Website

Epic

This site has thousands of amazing books for K-5 including fiction, nonfiction, and so much more. FREE, Grades K-5. Access Website

Fact Monster: All About Books

This fun site has all kinds of games and facts about books. FREE, Grades K-12. Access Website

West Virginia Authors

West Virginia authors have a flair for writing. Coming from the mountains gives them a unique lens through which they can explore and share their craft. Whether you prefer humor, suspense, mystery, or real-life adventures, our state authors have you covered.

Feather Pen. Quill, if you quill.

Homer Hickam
h3hickam@homerhickam.com

Sharyn McCrumb
Sharyn@SharynMcCrumb.com

Phyllis Moore
scoutdil2016@gmail.com

Candace Nelson
candace127@gmail.com
Twitter@Candace07

J. Carol Nemeth
cnemeth.books@yahoo.com

Ann Pancake
annpancake20@gmail.com

Edwina Pendarvis
pendarvi@marshall.edu

Jayne Anne Philips
japhillips@newark.rutgers.edu

Debbie Richard
poet@debbierichard.com

Sabrina Runyon
srunyon@k12.wv.us

Gage Shepherd
cometadventures@aol.com

Angie Wilson
angie@authorangiewilson.com

Don Stansberry
website – needs updated

Carlene Thompson
carlene@carlenethompson.us

Sandra Wales
hegwritersbl@aol.com

Lyn Widmyer
lynwidmyer@gmail.com

Bob O’Connor
author@boboconnorbooks.com
Twitter@chroniclescw

Angela Peery
drangelapeery@gmail.com

Marc Harshman
marcharshman@hotmail.com

Keith Davis
woodlandpressllc@mac.com

Pinckney Benedict
pinckney.benedict@gmail.com

Laura Bentley
ltbently7@msn.com
Twitter@lauratbentley

Casey Bond
authorcaseybond@gmail.com
Twitter@authorcaseybond

J.D. Byrne
jdbyrne42@gmail.com

Melinda Chambers
bkchambers55@yahoo.com

Stephen Coonts
spcoonts@gmail.com

John Cuthbert
jcuthber@wvu.edu

Amy R. Deal
authoramydeal@gmail.com
Twitter@AuthorAmyDeal

Deanna Edens
deanna.edens@pittsfordk12.org

Julia Elbon
julia@elbon.us

Robert Fouch
fouchbooks@gmail.com
Twitter @robertlfouch

Deborah E. Hammond
downtongirl13@gmail.com

Patricia Harman
patsy@patriciaharman.com

Desk and Laptop

Rajia Hassib
contact@rajiahassib.com
Twitter@rajiahassib

Timothy Huguenin
contact@tghuguenin.com
Twitter @tghuguenin

Bil Lepp
leppstorytelling@gmail.com
Twitter@billepp4real

Denise Giardin
websitedenisegiardina.com

Paul Martin
martinp@netacs.net
Twitter@paulmartinwv

Dreama McNeal
demcneal@yahoo.com

Katherine Manley
katherinemanley1@outlook.com

Mountain Authors

Jo Goodman
websitejogoodman.com

Kathleen M. Jacobs
kjacobswv@gmail.com

Tracy Kincaid
tkincaid75@gmail.com

Mark Harshman
markharshman@hotmail.com

Patricia Hopper Patteson
websitepatriciahopperpatteson.com

Kathy Ison
scottyandkathyison@verizon.net

Craig Johnson
craig.craigallenjohnson@gmail.com

Kirk Judd
tacobilly@yahoo.com

Marion R. Kee
marion@pobox.com

Patsy Pittman
patsypittman@verizon.net

Mary Jane Roming
mjromig@verizon.net

Cynthia Rylant
websitecynthiarylant.com

Anna Smucker
wvsmucker@aol.com

Erin Sponaugle
nextchapterpress@gmail.com
Twitter@erin_sponaugle

Jill Stemple
jj_stemple@hotmail.com

Gerald D. Swick
g.d.swick@comcast.net
Twitter@Geralddswick

Carter Taylor Seaton
carterseaton@comcast.net
Twitter@CarterTaylorSea

Sarah Thomas
sarah@sarahloudinthomas.com

Diana Walker
dlwalker003@hotmail.com

Jennifer Deitz Weingardt
jennifer.weingardt@yahoo.com

Rondalyn Whitney
whitneyrondalyn@gmail.com

Traci Vallano
*Amazon Books*