2022 WVRA Award Winners

December 23, 2022

2022 Madge McDaniel Award Winner

This award honors the memory of our first elected President of the West Virginia Reading Association, Madge McDaniel (1904-2004). Ms. McDaniel was – and continues to be – an inspiration to WVRA members and local reading councils.  This year’s nominees were Eva Warner (Boone County), Connie Mundy (Barbour County), and Lori Cottrell (Roane County).



2022 Eddie C. Kennedy Award Winner

This award is named in honor of West Virginia University professor, Dr. Eddie C. Kennedy. Dr. Kennedy is an inspiration to the many students he taught (1953-1976) and to his membership in the West Virginia Reading Association and Local Reading Councils.  This year’s nominees were Amanda McGraw (Marshall County), Theresa Dennison (Nicholas County), Sandra Price (Fayette County), Kristi Tankersley (Pocahontas County), and April Rearick (Berkeley County).


2022 Dr. Jennie Bechtold Award Winner

The award honors Dr. Jennie Bechtold who made numerous contributions to the West Virginia Reading Association over the years. Dr. Bechtold served as President, IRA Coordinator, and chaired many committees. She served on the prestigious IRA Nominations Committee. Her untiring commitment to the WVRA, IRA, and the countless students she mentored, was exemplary.

Nominations must represent outstanding full-time elementary teachers, Title 1 reading specialists, or reading interventionists who have been employed for 1-5 years.  This year’s nominees included Michelle Murphy (Pocahontas County).

2022 Cynthia Lorentz-Cook Memorial Grant Award Winner

***Pocahontas County***

This award was created in 1982 to honor the memory of Cynthia Lorentz-Cook, a Charleston, West Virginia native. The purpose of this award is to provide funds (up to $500) to a local council in need of development assistance for literacy programs and projects. Applications must be submitted through a local reading council or affiliate.

Categorized in: , , , ,