2015 Award Winners

ILA Award of Excellence

Dr. Robert L. Harrison, Jr., WVRA President

The ILA Award of Excellence was presented to the West Virginia Reading Association for the 15th year.  This award is presented to councils that have distinguished themselves through organizing and implementing a wide range of programs and activities that serve and support the councils, contribute to education, and coincide with and support the programs and goals of ILA.


ILA Inaugural “30 Under 30” 2015

Amy Merrill, East Dale Elementary, Marion County

This inaugural list recognizes the next generation of young innovaters, advocates, and educators who are leading efforts to address the challenges of today’s evolving education landscape and make a difference in the gobal literacy landscape. These members represent 13 countries worldwide and include nonprofit leaders, classroom teachers, authors, volunteers, researchers, CEO’s, and technology start up founders. You may view these members by clicking this link: 


WVRA Citation of Service

Mary Kay Wensyl

WVRA Citation of Merit

Jean Pearcy

Eddie C. Kennedy
Distinguished Teacher of the Year

Jone Hersch, Marion County

Madge McDaniel Award

Tony Nichols, Nicholas County

Cynthia Lorentz-Cook Memorial Award

Brook County Reading Council - Sandy Baldau

"Camp Read A lot" and "Camp Write A Lot"

Webster County Highlander Reading Council - Kathy Chapman

"Connecting Through History"

Mason County Reading Council - Elaine Hussell

"Feed Your Mind"

Dr. Jennie Bechtold Award

Jocelyn Kae Casto, MasonCounty

Mary Marockie A Touch of Class Award

Putnam County Reading Council

Sherry Craigo, President



Parents and Reading Honor Councils

Brooke County Reading Council

Mason County Reading Council

Marshall County Reading Council

Preston County Reading Council

Roane County Reading Council


Media in Education Grant Recipients

April Davis - Birch River Elementary

Natalie Treadway - Nicholas County High School


Media in Education Project Winners

Cabell County

Davis Creek Elementary

Martha Elementary


Jefferson County

T. A. Lowery Elmentary


Mason County

Beale Elementary

Leon Elementary

New Haven Elementary

Roosevelt Elmentary


Nicholas County

Nicholas County High School


Ohio County

Middle Creek Elementary


Putnam County

Conner Street Elementary

Hometown Elementary

Lakeside Elementary

Poca Elementary

West Teays Elementary


Randolph County

Valley Head Elementary


Roane County

Geary Elementary

Spencer Elementary


IRA Honor Councils 2014-2015

A prestigious award presented to councils who provide exemplary service
to their council, community, state, and IRA.

Marion County Reading Council (32 years)
Amanda Cayton and Amy Merrill, Co-Presidents

Cabell County Reading Council (31 years)
Nancy Borowski, President

Wood County Reading Council (29 years)
Lois Meadows, President

Mason County Reading Council (22 years)
Shawn Sergent, President

Marshall County Reading Council (17 years)
Jennifer Lipinski and Mary Kay Wensyel, Co-Presidents

Webster Highlander Reading Council (15 years)
Leslie Markle, President

Brooke County Reading Council (11 years)
Sharon Cuomo, President

Nicholas County Reading Council (3 years)
Tony Nichols, President


WVRA Honor Presidents 2015 - 2016

The West Virginia Reading Association presents a prestigious state award to recognize presidents
who provide exemplary service to their local council, community, state association, and IRA.

Barbour County Reading Council
Moke Post, President

Brooke County Reading Council
                                                 Sharon Cuomo, President         
Early Literacy Special Interest Council
Karen Ashbrook, President

Greenbrier County Reading Council
Ann Dever, President

Harrison County Reading Council
Chrisanne Diaz, President

Jefferson County Reading Council
Sue Moore, President

Kawawha County Reading Council
Barbara Jones, President

Marion County Reading Council
Amanda Cayton and Amy Merrill, Co- Presidents

Marshall County Reading Council
Mary Kay Wenysel, Co-President

Mason County Reading Council
Shawn Sergent, President

Mercer County Reading Council
Melissa Boothe, President

Nicholas County Reading Council
Tony Nichols, President

Roane County Reading Council
Brenda Chadwell, President

Wood County Reading Council
Lois Meadows, President

West Virginia Writing Exchange
Jan McNeel, Co-President
Kathy Snyder, Co-President

*Presidents listed are those who were in office when the award was received


Congratulations to All!